We love play-dough for so many reasons! Children love to manipulate and sculpt with play-dough, explore the tactile qualities, and create worlds entirely unique to them. It really can supply hours of endless fun. The best part is you can use it over and over again and each time your children will have a different experience. Not only is this great for their creative brains, but all the squeezing, forming, and smashing helps build strength in their little fingers that will help them down the road when they begin to explore writing and drawing.

I’ve been making play-dough for years for my classroom, and now I love making it for my own little. There are many homemade play-dough recipes out there but this is the only one I will ever use, I haven’t been disappointed yet!

Taste Safe Play-Dough

  • 2 cups of plain flour
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil (I have also used olive oil when I didn’t have vegetable oil on hand)
  • 1/2 cup of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of cream of tartar
  • 1 cup (to 1.5 cups) of boiling water
  • food coloring

Step one: Mix all the dry ingredients together (flour, salt, and cream of tartar)

Step two: Mix all the liquids together (boiling water, vegetable oil, and food coloring)

Step three: Combine dry ingredients and liquids together, I typically use a rubber scraper when mixing everything together. (If you feel like the dough is too sticky, just throw in some extra flour until you get a consistency you’re happy with.)

Step four: Let cool, and create until your heart’s content!

I have found that this recipe usually last at least 6 months in a sealed container, typically I keep mine in ziplock bags.

What are some of your favorite ways to use play-dough with your kiddos?

Leave a comment